Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Award-winning Author M. R. Mathias Announces The Release Of The Legend Of Vanx Malic Book Three: Saint Elm’s Deep


Once again Mathias has created another exciting masterpiece of a novel with the familiar captivating style that we have grown to expect.
M. R. Mathias is the author of the international bestselling “Wardsone Trilogy,” the Locus Poll nominated “Dragoneer Saga,” fantasy series, and the “Crimzon and Clover Short Story Collection.” He is also the author of the award-winning horror thriller “The Butcher’s Boy” under the pen name Michael R. Mathias.

“Saint Elm’s Deep” is Mathias’ latest entry in the highly-rated fantasy series, “The Legend of Vanx Malic.” Book One of the series made it to #1 in the Amazon Fantasy/Mythology bestsellers list in May 2013 and Book Two has been as high as #3 on that same list.

In “Saint Elm’s Deep,” our hero, a half-zythian bard named Vanx, is being drawn to places from his father’s infamous past. After helping Darbon get over the loss of his first love, and finding a map on a grueling hunt, Vanx and his new companions decide to travel deep into the Bitterpeaks. There they hope to find the fabled Hoar witch's palace in a hidden valley of the treacherous and magical Lurr Forest.

The story broadens, as we delve into Vanx's past and the future of as-unlikely-a-group of heroes as you will ever find. The journey, and the strange creatures they encounter along the way, makes this a fantasy adventure that you just don’t want to miss. Action and adventure, drama and thrills, and a barrel-keg full of adventure await readers in Saint Elm's Deep, the third installment of M. R. Mathias’ The Legend of Vanx Malic.

“We get a deep look at Vanx’s father Captain Saint Elm here, and the characters around Vanx are superbly drawn, complete with depth, emotions, and problems all their own. Especially, the Hoar witch” -  Digital Wizard.

And even better news, from October 1st through the 5th 2013, everyone can get The Legend of Vanx Malic Book One “Through the Wildwood” and Book Two “Dragon Isle” FREE in the Amazon Kindle Store here:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009A0Q5D2   If you don’t have a Kindle, just get the free Kindle reading app for your phone, PC, or tablet. Then get the books. It is that easy.

“Saint Elm’s Deep – The Legend of Vanx Malic Book Three,” is available for pre-order online at Amazon here: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F9IK6U2  and will officially release November 20th 2013.



REVIEW COPIES AND INTERVIEWS AVAILABLE http://www.mrmathias.com

Friday, November 9, 2012

Win a Kindle Fire HD 8.9" 4G LTE Wireless Pre-loaded with 200 Indie Published Book

The Independent Author Network is giving a Kindle Fire HD 8.9" 4G LTE Wireless to one lucky reader on December 24th. The Kindle comes pre-loaded with 200 indie published books. All books were donated by members of The Independent Author Network.


This Tablet is an amazing prize on its own! But this Kindle is jammed full of the best indie published ebooks by members of The Independent Author network. Hundreds of eBooks in all genres of fiction and non-fiction ready for your reading enjoyment.

Not just another fancy eBook reader. The Kindle Fire HD is a powerful tablet that compares to the best tabs in the business including the iPad 3 and Google Tablet.




                  Stunning 8.9" HD display, exclusive Dolby audio, and the fastest Wi-Fi    
   
· 1920x1200 HD display with polarizing filter and anti-glare technology for rich color and deep contrast from any viewing angle
· Exclusive Dolby audio and dual stereo speakers for crisp, booming sound without distortion
· High performance 1.5Ghz dual-core processor with Imagination PowerVR 3D graphics core for fast and fluid performance
· Dual-band, dual-antenna Wi-Fi for 40% faster downloads and streaming (compared to iPad 3)
· Over 22 million movies, TV shows, songs, magazines, books, audiobooks, and popular apps and games such asFacebook, Netflix, Twitter, HBO GO, Pandora, and Angry Birds Space
· Integrated support for Facebook, Twitter, Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo! and more, as well as Exchange calendar, contacts, and email
· Free Skype video calls with front-facing HD camera.


The contest opens November 1st and closes on December 24th. The winner will be randomly drawn.


The ebooks cover all genres of fiction and non-fiction.

The contest begins November 1st and closes on Christmas Eve. 


           
8.9" HD Display, Dolby Audio, Dual-Band Dual-Antenna Wi-Fi, 4G LTE, 32GB $499.00



IAN Christmas Kindle Fire contest is sponsored by The Wardstone Trilogy





GIVEAWAY RULES: Begins November 1st 


1) Open To Anyone
2) Only 1 Entry Per Person or Household (Multiple Entries Will Be Disqualified)
3) Must Enter Valid Email Address
4) No Purchase Necessary
5) Giveaway Will End Saturday, December 24, 2012 – 11:59AM PST
6) Winner Will Be Randomly Selected and Notified By Email
7) Personal Information Will Only Be Used In Mailing Out the Prize to the Winner





Entrants must send their email with 'Kindle Fire Contest Entry' in the heading to the email below. 

>>Send your entry to IANKindleFireGiveaway@gmail.com<<   






Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Troublesome Neighbors is a Fantasy Novel by M. K. Theodoratus

Troublesome Neighbors
Fantasy


All Lady Renna, a veteran of the Half-Elven Rebellion, wants is respect. But she’s caught between two millstones – her neighbor who covets her lands and her steward who still treats her like a child. People don’t look beyond her small stature and crippled gait. Considered a weakling, Renna lets people think what they want. She’s a weaver, not a fighter.

Renna may be sick of bloodshed, but as the holder of Ren Creek, she is expected to protect her people. When Lord Gorsfeld, her neighbor, starts vandalizing the villages of her holding, she is force to confront him to win the respect of her steward and keep her self-respect. 

Her friend, Mariah, decides Renna has stayed on the sidelines too long. She pulls Renna into the power struggle with Gorsfeld that reaches beyond Renna’s holding. With pressure coming from all sides, Renna must seek her own way to get even with Lord Gorsfeld. Amazon.com 


Snarly elves are M. K. Theodoratus' specialty. Her scattered reviews consider, her take on elves different, even though conflict over magic is a cornerstone of their society. The general tone of the reviews? The Half-Elven stories are fast-paced, thrilling, exciting, and engaging.

Yeah, she does the fantasy writer thing, mostly in the world of the Far Isle Half-Elven, a hybrid elf/human population that survived genocide by religious fanatics. You can learn more about the history and heroes of the Marches at her website: http://www.half-elven.com 

A writing assignment started her "writing career". Her sixth-grade teacher asked for a short story for an English assignment. She got a Nancy Drew pastiche and gave her a "C" because, with 25+ handwritten pages, she hadn't finished the story. [Most of the other kids only wrote two to four pages.] The next summer, she finished the MG story -- "The Clue of the Clay Cats". 

After four or five "writing careers", she now writes fantasy. The Far Isle Half-Elven absorb most of her time, but she also explores the world of Faerie and ghosts in some of my tween fantasy WIPs.     



Saturday, October 20, 2012

Ashley Dukart is the Author of Nothing More, Nothing Less


First off, my name is Ashley Dukart I was born in Texas and began to write at an early age. Writing, however, is not my only passion. I love to read, draw, paint, and among other things spend time with my family and pets. My long term goal is to become a veterinarian, but writing was such a part of me I had to pursue it as well. Nothing More, Nothing Less is my first published novel and I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing it. I currently live in Texas with my family and I am continuing to write for my own enjoyment and hopefully for yours’, the readers’, as well.







Nothing More, Nothing Less


Young Adult Fiction/Teens

When You Can’t Forget the Past….

When Brandon finds that his mother committed suicide, he blames himself for her decision. His guilt drives his young life into a downward spiral of drugs, drug-dealing, and violent repercussions when his “business partners” don’t get what they want. Haunted by the past that will never change he fights to forget and to escape the memories he often relives. His brothers, who don’t always seem to understand him and what he’s going through, desperately try to help, but as life becomes further entangled, will Brandon find the escape he so desperately needs before it’s too late?

How Do You Forgive the Present…
 


Amazon.com     

Friday, October 19, 2012

M.R. Mathias is the Author of The Legend of Vanx Malic-Through the Wildwood


M. R. Mathias is proud to present his next fantasy series: The Legend of Vanx Malic.  Book One of this fantasy serial – Through the Wildwood, has just been released and the reviews are coming in.  Book Two will be available before Christmas 2012.  The cover art for these titles is custom created, and by the look of the first one, these books will be well received.

Through the Wildwood



A half-zythian bard named Vanx is in chains for bedding the Duchess of Highlake. The Duke wants him dead, but his wife secretly sent their daughter to buy his freedom from the slave markets. This is bad news, for bad things can happen to an ill-guarded caravan in the mountains. When the Duke's mercenaries attack to kill the adulterous prisoner all hell breaks loose. Now, the only way Vanx and the Princess of Highlake can escape the Duke and his men is if they can somehow make it through the Wildwood, a place that no one has ever returned from before.....
 

In Mathias’ words:
“After I finished writing The Wardstone Trilogy, I still had several months to go before I would be released from prison. I did not want to lapse in my religious routine of penning three thousand words a day, so I didn’t. Book One – Through the Wildwood is a fun and intense book that introduces a few of the series’ main characters. I have over a thousand pages worth of Vanx Malic and his curious group of companions sitting here in longhand. I will be publishing them in eBook format, about two hundred fifty pages at a time, over the next year and a half.”

Reviews
This is an entertaining, fast-paced, and thrilling fantasy book. Vanx is a character that really draws you in. I love books that make me excited and that make me think. The author has a special ability to create a world that seems almost real. Once you get into this book you will not want to stop reading!! Amazon Review

I felt like I was in a whole new world reading this book and I could imagine the creatures that were described in such great detail. The storyline was also amazing. I would recommend anyone who loves fantasy books to read this book as you will definitely be swept into this world! Avid Reader Reviews

In addition, Mathias announces the audio book release of his award-winning horror thriller, The Butcher’s Boy, written under the name Michael Robb Mathias. This is the perfect Halloween read (or listen) and like all of Mathias’ novels, it is available everywhere books and eBooks are sold online.
Follow MR at twitter @DahgMahn  
 

http://www.mrmathias.com         


Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Kathy Fischer-Brown is the Author of the The Serpent’s Tooth Trilogy


Lord Esterleigh's Daughter 

Historical Fiction

As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass.

Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, the headstrong young woman begins to learn that, like generations of Darvey women ruled by their hearts, she is destined to follow in their footsteps.

Set against the backdrop of 18th century England, "Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter" is the first book in “The Serpent’s Tooth” trilogy, which follows Anne from the rural countryside, to London society and into the center of the American Revolution.

Courting the Devil

Four years after a near fatal blunder uproots her from her home and inheritance, Anne Darvey, daughter of the Marquess of Esterleigh, finds herself an indentured servant on a farm near Fort Edward in New York, as the British army advances toward Albany. Driven by guilt over the pain she has caused her father and grief over her lover’s death, she sets out to deliver a message. The consequences lead to the discovery that all is not as it seems, and sets in motion events that lead to love and danger.

Set against the backdrop of the American Revolution, "Courting the Devil" is the second book in “The Serpent’s Tooth” trilogy, which follows Anne from her childhood in the rural English countryside, to London society, and into the center of the American Revolution.  Available at Amazon


The Partisan's Wife 

In the third and final book of "The Serpent's Tooth" trilogy, Anne Marlowe is torn between her love for her husband and the need of her father’s forgiveness. As the American forces follow up on their tide-turning victories at Stillwater and Bemis Farm, Peter is drawn inextricably deeper into the shadowy network of espionage that could cost them both their lives.

Is his commitment to the Rebel cause stronger than his hard-won love for Anne? Will her sacrifice tear them apart again...this time forever? Or will they find the peace and happiness they both seek in a new beginning?

"The Partisan’s Wife" follows Anne and Peter through the war torn landscape of Revolutionary War America, from the Battle of Saratoga to British-occupied New York and Philadelphia, and beyond.



I’ve always loved history. Way back in junior high, my mind would wander from dates, battles and treaties to musings on what it might have been like to live in another time. Family vacations always included visits to Civil War or Revolutionary War battle sites, tours of colonial houses and restored villages, which, even these many years later, serve as inspiration.

Born in New York City, I live in central Connecticut with a long-time husband, a grown-up daughter and two dogs. We also have a grown-up son and daughter-in-law, who recently presented us with our first grandson. When not writing I enjoy cooking, photography, reading, music, movies, and long walks with the pups.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

A Sample Sunday of Godspeed by February Grace

Godspeed by February Grace
395 pages
Literary Romance/Steampunk


     I studied him with rapt attention for some time, thinking that he had no idea until the moment he turned to me, loupe still in place, and nodded in my direction.
     “My father was a clockmaker,” he declared, without my having to ask. “He was… sort of a business partner of Schuyler’s father. He built timepieces, restored antiques for the shop on a regular basis. I learned everything I know about clock repair and watch making from him.”
     He closed the case on the back of the watch he’d been working on and set his tools aside. Last of all, he removed the loupe and put it away. “I find concentrating on the task of repairing such a thing helps me to think.”
     I marveled that work so intricate, requiring such meticulous attention, could help anyone think about anything else. It just served as evidence again of the unusual mind at work here, someone so brilliant that clockworks were no challenge at all, and only in the mysteries of the inadequacies of the human body could a true challenge be found.
     “Your mother?” I asked softly. Hearing how dry my throat was, the doctor rose from his chair and brought me a glass of water.
     “I do not remember.”
     He did not elaborate as to whether she left him by choice or by chance, taken in death or had abandoned him when he was a boy. “Before you ask, no, I have no siblings. Well, none that are not… convenient fabrications.”
     I left the comment alone for now; I did not want to stop him talking. If I risked asking the wrong question in this moment he may never be willing to approach this topic again.
     I wondered that he was willing to approach it now. Again, I was too afraid of breaking the spell to question too mightily.
     “Schuyler’s mother, I remember. She was a very kind woman. Gifted,” he continued. “A musician. All the musical instruments you find around this place originally belonged to her. She tried to teach me them; violin and piano, but I had no natural talent for music.
     “So off to my father’s workshop I went, usually ferrying back and forth from it the items from Ruby Road that needed to be repaired. Very early on he had me assisting him, handing him this tool and that, never once behaving as if he believed I didn’t understand. No matter how young I was, he always used the proper terms for things and explained to me exactly their purpose inside the clockworks.” He got a distant look in his eye, and shook his head as he paced past his workbench and moved toward the cabinet across the room.
      He opened up a panel, procured a bottle and glass, and poured himself a drink. “I didn’t realize then that the greatest gift he would ever give me was faith in my own mind.”
    He downed the dark, pungent liquid in one long gulp and nodded approvingly at the taste. He pivoted on his heel and turned back toward me. “Still, you refuse to tell me about yourself.”
     I looked away.
     “Even so much as your name.”
     My eyes remained focused on the opposite wall.
     “I am a fairly resourceful man, you know.”
    I felt the urge to laugh at the magnitude of his understatement. To say he was fairly resourceful was to say that the sea, roaring and endless with advancing and retreating tides, was vast and tasted slightly of salt.
    “I’ve done some investigating,” he said, pacing again as he spoke. “There have been no reports of a young woman your age, anyone even close to your description, going missing in the last year, and I highly doubt you were on the street more than a day before Schuyler plucked you from it. Otherwise you would not have survived.”
     He looked me over with carefully critical eyes, almost as one considering purchase of a piece of used merchandise. “Why is it a girl with such… who has been at least somewhat carefully kept and cared for over the years, would not be reported missing?”
    I summoned all of my strength to speak, because I was driven to answer. “To be reported missing, sir, one must first be missed.”
     He inclined his head, accepting my explanation. He clearly understood how much speaking those words, words tied to such difficult emotions, took out of me. He pressed me no further.
      He returned to the workbench behind the surgical table, where I now sat with my legs dangling over the side.
       He opened the top drawer, procured a small wooden box, and held it up on display.
      “A gift.”
    My eyes widened when I saw what at first appeared to be a brilliant silver-tone locket; antique, and fashioned in the arcing shape of a heart.
    “This, like most things in life, is more than it first appears.” He removed it with one hand and set aside the box with the other before moving within reach. “This is the means by which we will free you from the torment of harsher treatments.”
    I watched with absolute amazement as he unlatched the clasp on the charm and revealed its complicated interior. Gear upon gear, lever upon lever, all churning and clicking away in musical, clockwork time. He leaned in so close now that I could feel the warmth of his cheek against mine.
     “Here.” He dangled the necklace in front of me, where it danced and flickered in the light.       “This is your new heart. It’s rare, and young, and made of pure white gold.” For an instant he looked upon me with an expression I could not possibly put emotion to. “Exactly, I am certain, like the one it will repair.”
He lowered the chain around my neck, and as he did so, tears I could not deny wound their way down my cheeks and onto his gifted, powerful hands.

Amazon

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Award Winning Author M. R. Mathias is Proud to Announce the July 4th Release of The Wizard and the Warlord – The Wardstone Trilogy Book III












Award winning author, M. R. Mathias is proud to announce the July 4th release of The Wizard and the Warlord – The Wardstone Trilogy Book III. 

To celebrate the conclusion of this mammoth epic trilogy he is offering book one, The Sword and the Dragon for just $1.88. This huge novel has been in the Top 100 of the Amazon Kindle Fantasy/Mythology Bestselling lists in the US and UK for 23 straight months. Get direct links to Amazon, B&N, Sony, & iStore here:  http://about.me/TheSwordandtheDragon 

If you’re  one of the many thousands who has already read book one, a huge preview of book two, Kings, Queens, Heroes, & Fools, is available here: www.mrmathias.com  and a 5 chapter preview of Book III is available for onscreen reading at Goodreads here:

This entire trilogy was written on notebook paper in a Texas prison cell with several hundred ink pens. It is a testament to one man’s desire to rehabilitate and stay clean.  It is also a surprisingly fantastic piece of epic fantasy fiction…at least that is what the reviewers are saying. 

M. R. Mathias says this:   “The Wardstone Trilogy is every fantasy novel I have ever read all rolled up into one huge epic…  Every word, on every page was a moment of freedom I created for myself. That is why these books have been released on the 4th of July the last three years. It’s all about Independence, freedom, and the idea that someone who has been through what I have, can still find a way out of the statistically impossible madness that is the drug/prison lifestyle.”  You can follow M. R. Mathias @DahgMahn on twitter

What others are saying about The Wardstone Trilogy:

Overall The Sword and the Dragon (A+) is an impressive debut - a traditional fantasy that manages to be fresh. It succeeds in offering a complete reading experience. See the full review here: fantasybookcritic.blogspot.com --Fantasy Book Critic

Fans of Tolkien and CS Lewis will find much to enjoy … a big book, with a steady flow throughout. Read this book. Take up your sword and get ready for a hugely enjoyable adventure. --Book Smart UK

I found myself going "wow" more than once reading the first two books of this trilogy. Each book tells a great complete adventure. -- E. J. Weatherby Anchorage Review

This is an epic fantasy, and I do mean epic. This book is LONG. I'm talking 200,000 plus words, here. Probably three times as long as Harry Potter.  A fat fantasy, the kind you would expect from a Jordan or Tad Williams. One should not be put off by the price, because you do get your money's worth. --  Bestselling Author, B. V. Larson

"You've (Mathias) already achieved much, much more than so many people who like to think of themselves as writers." --  @Gollancz The Deputy Publishing Director of SF, Fantasy & Horror list of the Orion Publishing Group.

http://www.mrmathias.com

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Alle Wells is the Author of Railroad Man, Lame Excuses, and Leaving Serenity


Alle Wells writes Southern Fiction set in specific time periods. Each book tells the story of one life and how society, beliefs, and culture shape the outcome of that life. The reader may find a family member, a friend, an acquaintance or themselves in her characters. Her stories are like life: funny, tragic, romantic, happy, and sad. Choose one of her titles and find yourself or someone you know.  




Alle’s books

Leaving Serenity

Coming Of Age

Nikky Harris is a modern-day ugly duckling who triumphs over life’s unseen obstacles to become an independent, successful, and stunning swan. Her story illustrates the power to succeed that lies within all of us. In 1996, Nikky is a rich and beautiful woman - a self-made woman. She returns to her hometown after a twenty-five year absence to face the demons she left behind. During her visit, she shares her story of growing up feeling unwanted and out of place in a small town in the 1960′s and early ’70′s. Nikky’s road to success is heartwarming, uplifting, and inspirational.



Lame Excuses

Southern Fiction, Family, Drama, Addiction

Forty-year-old Emily Halley sits in a wheelchair in an abandoned lot of a silent, forlorn southern town. She reflects on her life that began in a short-order café that sat on this corner lot in the early 1960’s. She remembers and shares her love for the café that provided everything she needed and demanded nothing from her. As a teenager, Emily’s life at the café ends abruptly with her father’s untimely death. 

Emily is forced to find a new life and enrolls in a culinary arts school in a rural farming community. She thrives as a culinary artist and finds a mentor, a lover and a new life in the Sand Fort community. Emily’s life is sprinkled with pleasant surprises, southern humor, disappointments and drama. Her passion for food remains constant and comforts her through the good times and the bad. Emily’s lifestyle begins to take its toll on her at an early age. A medical condition misdiagnosed by a country doctor and ignored by Emily leads her to a tragic and unsatisfied end as she tries to piece her life back together.




Railroad Man

Historical Fiction/Romance

Mickey’s job with the railroad is the best gig going in north Georgia in 1933. He’s tall, dark, and handsome and has it made in the shade. Mickey found his true love at an early age and dreams of the perfect life they will share. He roams the speakeasies and clip joints of Atlanta, looking snazzy and ready for some action. The women call him Killer. He seeks the exotic creatures of the city and the wonders they hold. What Mick finds on a cold, dark night in a lowdown speakeasy changes his life forever. Forty-five years later, Mick wonders what happened.

Praise for Railroad Man: 

Brilliant, moving, sublime.....writing at its best! - Best Selling Author, Andy Holloman, North Carolina

WELLS DEMONSTRATES FLAWLESS EXECUTION! -Romance Novelist, Patricia Paris, Maryland

Joy, despair, triumph, and tragedy - Ms. Wells' RAILROAD MAN has it all.-Thriller Novelist, Gae-Lynn Woods, Texas

The characters and their experiences and emotions jump out at you from the pages of Leaving Serenity by Alle Wells. The smoothness of Ms. Wells writing immediately draws you into this heartwarming, and sometimes heart wrenching, story as you follow the lead character's life through heartache and triumph. Ms. Wells beautiful writing style, storytelling ability and unforgettable characters reminds me of southern writer Anne Rivers Siddons. I loved this book and have definitely become of fan of Alle Wells. Amazon Review







Sunday, May 20, 2012

Zombie Candy is Author Frederick Lee Brooke’s Latest Annie Ogden Mystery


Zombie Candy

You know early on, from the color of the inappropriate bra in the opening scene, that Zombie Candy is going to be a black comedy. Most people could sympathize with the male obsession for sex and zombie movies, but who would put up with a husband who doused every dish with cilantro? 

Frederick Lee Brooke serves up another literary treat with this bizarre and comical tale of love and betrayal. Candace Roach enlists her best friend Annie Ogden (our favorite sleuth from Doing Max Vinyl) to find out what her husband is really up to on his weekly business trips – but their home-cooked aversion therapy gets out of hand and hurtles along an astonishing highway of the undead.

Weaving elements of mystery, horror and romance in a story that starts in Chicago and ends in a quaint medieval town in sun-drenched Tuscany, Zombie Candy transcends any single genre. 

Home for good from Iraq but unsure about her future, Annie Ogden isn't your typical woman sleuth. Her best friend, Candace Roach – gourmet cooking instructor, owner of a house in Tuscany – isn't your typical wronged woman either. Candace teaches gourmet cooking, and loves nothing more than orchestrating a four-course meal full of flavorful surprises and artistic touches. A selection of her recipes is found in an appendix to the book.

But with each shocking discovery in the investigation of her husband, the friendship between Candace and Annie is further put to the test. Candace ultimately takes matters into her own hands and, in an elaborate ruse, stages a nightmarish zombie drama in which her husband plays the starring role. 

In the words of Emma Calin, author of Knockout, A Passionate Police Romance: "This book has all the ingredients of a perfect noir comedy – well formed characters, international locations,  a fast moving plot with no brakes, and of course zombies. Revenge is a dish best served cold – and as a betrayed wife, master chef and cookery instructor, Candace cooks up the perfect recipe for the ultimate gazpacho." Get it at Amazon

Also by the author

Doing Max Vinyl

Max Vinyl is a recycling king in Chicago. When his environmentalist girlfriend catches him dumping old computer junk in Lake Michigan, Max gets a taste of her violent side. Even his ex-wife can't save him this time. Meanwhile two of Max Vinyl's brawny enforcers have provoked Annie Ogden, just back from four years in Iraq-bad idea! Doing Max Vinyl-guaranteed to make you laugh till you cry.


I was an early reader and decided to become a writer before hitting high school. An affinity for learning languages led to my spending a year in Germany during college, then a year in France a few years later, as a teaching assistant in a lycée. Teaching agreed with me. There followed a 20-year career in the language school business, first as a teacher, then as school manager and salesman of language training. A few years ago I started writing again and in early 2011 finished my first novel, Doing Max Vinyl. I enjoyed writing it so much that I quit my job at the language school in order to devote all my time to writing my second book, a sequel to Doing Max Vinyl. Nowadays you'll find me writing and revising day and night, when I'm not saying hello on Twitter. 

Thursday, May 10, 2012

David Rutherford is the Author of Navy SEAL Training: Self-Confidence


 Navy SEAL Training: Self-Confidence

Self help

In his first field manual for adults; Self-Confidence, Navy SEAL, motivational speaker, and life instructor David Rutherford inspires readers to forge their own personal success by accepting 8 Life Missions. As a Navy SEAL and Behavioral Training Specialist, David has traveled the world and discovered what enables the human condition to succeed in any environment. He combines his personal experiences with over 70 years of proven operational successes of the Navy SEAL Teams to form this field manual to help you forge your Self-Confidence.

                       Amazon.com 






David Rutherford


David Rutherford is living his dream as an internationally known self-help personality that is affording him the opportunity to achieve his personal goal of reaching 10 million people in 10 years. His passion is helping people forge their personal Self-Confidence and teach them to dedicate themselves toward living a team orientated lifestyle, or "Team Life". David's high energy and endless motivation inspires all those who come in contact with him to overcome their fears and live life to its fullest.

David served 8 years in the Naval Special Warfare Community as a SEAL student, Combat Paramedic, Operator and Instructor. He has participated in clandestine operations in the Middle East, South Asia, South East Asia and Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan. Since his honorable discharge from the Navy in 2003 he has continued traveling extensively as an international training specialist for the US Government and one of the largest private security firms in the world. David has inspired commandos around the globe to push themselves past any and all known limitations. His masterful ability to motivate enables people from all walks of life to achieve success in any environment imaginable.

Since 2006 David has been motivating audiences and individuals across America and around the world with his uniquely high impact, highly emotional style of speaking, writing and coaching. His Froglogic Concept is derived from the 70 + years of operational successes within the UDT/SEAL community. He has combined his incredible personal story with the proven track record of the SEAL Teams to create a simple, elite lifestyle performance program for people to embrace.


  TeamFrogLogic         NavySealMotivationalSpeaker/blog

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Armageddon Yellowstone: Hell Unleashed by Award-winning Writer Terry Rich Hartley

Armageddon Yellowstone: Hell Unleashed

It would explode with a force a thousand times more powerful than the Mount St Helens eruption in 1980. The world’s largest super-volcano located underneath the United States’ Yellowstone National Park is set to blow. (Actual report from the UK's Daily Mail.)
A scientist on a suicide mission...
A brain damaged boy disappears from the hospital...
A Faustian bargain with a mysterious life form ...
A ghostly shaman bearing visions of disaster...
A rash of murderous behavior in two small towns
A cavern concealing clandestine paramilitary maneuvers...
A vast, deep reservoir of fiery molten rock threatening the heart of North America...

Armageddon Yellowstone: Hell Unleashed, the stunning new science fiction thriller from award-winning writer Terry Rich Hartley, author of Paranoia on River Road, The Ditchrider's Daughter, Whisper, and Whisper II: The Books.

Reviews:

“This is a full slate of a story. It is a feat in and of itself that the author, Terry Rich Hartley, pulls all the strands together; major kudos to him . . . It's a fast moving story, and it keeps you hooked . . . a killer high tech thriller.” (LiteralRemains.com)

“If like me, you're a Brit fascinated by Yellowstone and the films about volcanoes, this is a book worth reading. It combines geology with science fiction, with a bit of native American mystique thrown in for good measure.” (debbie-bennett.blogspot.com)



Noted science fiction editor Jerry Pournelle wrote in Far Frontiers magazine:

Terry Rich Hartley thinks that perhaps we were not all meant to love one another, except in the sense that flesh is heat, and we enjoy that love we feel as we kill or are killed.

While that ominous theme occurs in some of his fiction, Dr. Hartley argues that he's really a normal guy who likes to bring the abnormal side of psychology to story writing. Hartley has been a research psychologist, psychology professor, and journalist, but his passion is and always has been fiction writing.

His current themes mingle psychology, science fiction, and horror with suggestions of the paranormal. Prior to chasing his doctorate he wrote science fiction stories and also earned first-place awards for newspaper column writing and for editing in New York State.

An avid outdoorsman, Hartley lives in the rugged American West beside a turbulent river where scary themes play on his mind.

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Introducing The Dracula Hearts Series By AJ Gallant

Dracula: Hearts of Stone

A tale of magic, romance and fangs. This adventure is sprinkled with humor. This MIGHT be a little like Dracula if written by J. K. Rowling. It’s a place where magic and vampires interweave for an exciting adventure.

We start with a shiny new pot of boiling water and add too many evil vampires, and not enough of the good biters. Toss in one suicidal Dracula; add a cup of mayhem and a dash of romance. Oh yes, and a pinch of mirth. Stir lovingly and you have a new novel by A. J. Gallant. If it sounds like the recipe for you then you must read Dracula: Hearts of Stone. Dracula commands it. 

Will Dracula male contact with a long lost love?

New York City is under attack.

Dracula is suicidal in a world where evil vampires are in the early stages of taking over. The Master has lived too long and can’t find a reason to face another day. Nasty vampires are feeding on vulnerable mortals and causing chaos. Years ago he trained valiant sheriffs and expects them to defend the humans but they are being overrun. Piers Anthony, the author, is now a vampire. He spends his days attempting to get the Master to snap out of it and to defend the humans, without losing his head.

A 12-year-old girl is a rare hybrid, half human and half vampire; she was conceived the normal way, with her mother a mortal and her father a vampire. Jenny is slowly discovering that she may be a blood wizard. She’s already an accomplished vampire killer and can cast spells, but an underground figure has noticed the girl. Some believe that she might be the one of legend that tips the scale toward good.

Sheriff Alexander and his vampire German shepherd stand and fight for justice.
Will the red sheriffs be overrun? Will Michael finally get the courage to ask out the sheriff?

Here are some of the characters in this book.

  • Dracula is a bit of a good guy.
  • Piers Anthony is now a vampire.
  • Jenny is a 12-year-old hybrid with extraordinary talent.
  • Lauren is an exceptional sheriff with unsurpassed fighting skills.
  • A very special Siamese cat searches for Dracula.
  • Tessy is a vampire German shepherd that hates the evil ones.
  • Alexander is a handsome sheriff trying to save the world, one vampire at a time. Buy Now

Dracula: Hearts of Fire

Jenny is well on her way to becoming a high level wizard, but the evil vampires are multiplying at an alarming rate. But it's definitely not easy to learn the ways of a wizard. The red sheriffs have their hands full as Dracula finally decides that he's going to help.

Dracula: Hearts of Glory

Jenny discovers that she's one of the most powerful wizard's in existence, but her lack of experience may just be the death of her.
The battle rages to an exciting conclusion.


The writing spark was first initiated by reading the works of Harlan Ellison. A. J. Gallant is now inspired by such authors as Steven King, J. K. Rowling, Dean Koontz and many others. He's the writer of more than a dozen screenplays.
The author resides in New Brunswick and is at work on a new Dracula series, with magic, romance, and the battle to save humanity. The first of the vampire trilogy Dracula: Hearts of Stone is now available.

A. J. Gallant is currently working on the sequel Dracula: Hearts of FIRE and should be available in August, 2012.





Saturday, March 24, 2012

CLASS COLLISION: FALL FROM GRACE By Annette Mackey




Great Story; Great Characterization

This Historical Young Adult Fiction story portrays David Bastien's early life. Born into an aristocratic American family in the 1920's, David is a handsome lad who displays an extraordinary mind, an abundant musical talent, and a considerable amount of arrogance. Until the age of ten, David exercises his intellectual and familial power over everyone who crosses his path. His upper-class upbringing comes to a drastic halt when he and his brother are kidnapped and held for ransom. David is never found and presumed dead. David's mental power and inner strength never fail him as he faces the hard life of a penniless, homeless pre-teen in the 1930's. David struggles and claws his way through nearly impossible situations. He holds on to his pride and identity when cruel overseers try to strip them from him. The book closes as young David looks forward to a promising future with his newfound love. David's story continues in "Class Collision: Phoenix Rising".  

This epic tale captures the essence of life during the Great Depression in various locations across the United States. The outstanding characterization in this story is reminiscent of beloved Dickens' tales. The historical nuances make it a wonderful read for young people. by Alle's 5 Star Reviews